Home Firewall

Finally my venerable 486dx2-66 has been replaced. I managed to source this old original IBM in 1996 when I was working at ACCI and they were going to throw them out.
It’s been my home firewall/router since then, running various custom hand built versions of RedHat Linux and some extras like portfw to get around various ‘features’ in Bigpond.
It’s been wonderful, but I suspect that finally the hard disk has started to die, as for the last month it’s been dropping packets like mad at various times (normally when playing WoW – go figure).
So, after consulting my local hardware weenie (hiya Fudge) who’s been raving about these fancy-pants micro-pc based hardware ones from Yawarra I thought I’d give them a try.
Now, I browsed their website, chose the WRAP 1-2 (3 ethernet connections, 1 mini-pci) with m0n0wall installed. I had an email within about 30 mins advising me that my order had been recieved. I’m like WTF – that’s awesome. It was all handled by a real person after my email filter decided that their automated response was spam (sorry about that).
Then, the box arrived the next day. How cool is that ? The arrival was followed up by another email to check that it had arrived ok.
It took the grand total of 10 minutes to get it installed and working. The default configuration was pretty much all I needed. I turned off the old box (bye), configured the IP address to match, switched 2 cables and that was it.
Thanks Yawarra, it’s looking awesome at this stage, and 10/10 for customer service.
Yawarra: Web Site
m0n0wall: Web Site

