A trip to the colonies

I’ve recovered enough to make a sensible blog entry which is good and bad. The good news is that I’m in Bangalore (India), about to meet some of my ANZIT colleagues. The bad news is that I’m in Bangalore, missing my wife.
Spent a leisurely day yesterday around the hotel, checking out what is around, and just sitting in the garden in the morning, then it got too hot and muggy, so retreated to the cool of the bar.
First impressions of Bangalore come from a taxi trip to the hotel from the airport. And all I can say is “wow”. The airport is a throwback to the 50’s. I don’t think it’s seen much love since then. The best word I can find to describe Bangalore (or the parts I have seen, which is limited) is “unkempt”.
The city has a lot of bare concrete and it’s very dusty. Didn’t see much that was dirty/unclean, but just “untidy” or old.
The traffic is crazy. Our cab driver should go for a spot on in the Melbourne GP. He was astounding, driving at 70km/h with no more than 3 inches between vehicles. Beeping and weaving appears to be part of the driving culture here. I would imagine that the horn is the first part of the car that wears out before any other part.
I was interested to see traffic lights at intersections. They are not given any heed, and Joel and I decided that they are there merely to warn other drivers that you will have to weave out of the way of oncoming traffic. Don’t expect any semblance of road rules, there aren’t any. Lots of little 100-150cc 2-stroke motorbikes around mostly ridden 2-up, but I only saw 2 helmets – ouch !!
However, the most bizarre part of the evening was seeing a traffic cop booking a couple of cars. There didn’t seem to have been an accident, so I just guessed that he must have been booking them for “safe driving”. Must have stopped at a red light, or used an indicator or something, as it seemed to me that everything else goes in Bangalore (and presumably all of India) and I can’t see that there are any “rules” that could be broken.
Today is visit the team. I’m really looking forward to it. But off now for breakfast…

