Goodbye G00fy

On Tuesday night I bid farewall to my motorbike. I finally gave it to common sense as my arm is too badly injured to be able to control the bike at anything above walking speed.
I had a bunch of great times on the bike, and it was mechanically brilliant. It was (is) a 1992 Honda CBR600, basically bulletproof and is going to a new owner that will love and care for it (and ride it more than I will). I bought it new, and have managed a number of rides on Phillip Island racetrack which will still remain one of the highlights of my life.
I don’t know what the quality of Honda engineering is these days, but I can’t fault the bikes of the era of mine. All the owners I’ve ever met have raved about how you have to shoot the bikes to kill em. I hope that’s still the case.
I can’t help feeling that a little bit of my youth just left me when I sold the bike. I think I’ll have to try and find something equally as dangerous, stupid and exiting to try to maintain it. Growing old isn’t about growing up.

One thought on “Goodbye G00fy

Comments are closed.