MT-Blacklist is dead, long live SCode

The blog spammers have finally got too much. And with MT-Blacklist 2.0 falling into disrepair and no longer updating the blacklist (which kinda defeats the purpose), after Simon enthused about SCode, I decided to install it.
Well, it was pretty easy to install, and after only 2 false starts (make sure the SCode temp directory ends with a trailing /, and make sure you update the correct part of MTBlpost.pm if you keep running MTBlacklist) it is working.
Now, all 3 blogs that I administer are well and truly spam protected as much as I can be. I was getting about 10-20 blog spams getting through the blacklist each day which required manual intervention. Now, hopefully that will fix things.
The downside is that you have to read an image and type in the number if you want to enter comments. This will adversely impact all the blind, low bandwidth and non graphical browser users who wish to comment on my site. If you are feeling disadvantaged, then send the comment to me, and I will personally post it under your name.
I’m keeping MT-Blacklist around just to see how it goes. I reckon two levels of anti-spamming can only help.

7 thoughts on “MT-Blacklist is dead, long live SCode

  1. You’ll want to keep the BlackList around anyway for trackback filtering. A good 50% of the spam I deal with is trackback links.
    (You might also want to turn on the attribute that prevents IE and FireFox remembering the field value you type in for the code)

  2. Jon Eaves: MT-Blacklist is dead, long live SCode

    The blog spammers have finally got too much. And with MT-Blacklist 2.0 falling into disrepair and no longer updating the blacklist (which kinda defeats the purpose), after Simon enthused about SCode, I decided to install it. Well, it was pretty…

  3. As I said on my blog entry, if you can’t read it, then just send me the comment and I’ll post it for you. I’m certainly also not going to update my site with the hack in the URL you mentioned. It’s trivially bypassed by the spammers by parsing the text. If I’m going to spend the time to modify my site, I’m going to do something that will actually survive for a while.
    I *know* that I’m inconveniencing at least one of my cow-orkers with this.
    However, I’m not an equal opportunity commenting site. Build a bridge, get over it.

  4. I’m trying to get scode to work with blacklist, and while it’s printing the image right, it’s not requiring a correct answer. Can you send me a quick email with the place in MTBlacklist to edit so I can get this to work? Thanks much.

  5. The edit is about line 320 in MTBlPost.pm, but depends on what version of MT you are running.
    This is described in the “NOTE TO SOURCE CODE HACKERS” at the top of that file.
    (can be found in MT/extlib/jayallen/)

Comments are closed.