Resistance to change = resistance to learning ?

One of my very fortunate experiences in my formative years of learning to code was to work with some of the most brilliant people that exist on the planet. Not only that, they were incredibly patient, had great personalities and really cared about what they did, and the quality of the work they produced. Thanks Glen, thanks Dave, thanks Zaph and Moles.
As a result of this, I’ve never really been that personally attached to my code, because there’s always somebody smarter than me who can say “how about this, it’s a better way”. Of course I’m proud of my code, and I like to build the best code that I can, but as Dave Astels has recently blogged, everybodies code sucks. That’s everybody.
It’s something that I’ve always felt over the years that if I didn’t look back after 3 months at my code and think, “boy, that sucks”. Then I probably haven’t learnt anything. Not learning is bad. So, my own-code-suck-o-meter has been a barometer for how much learning I have been doing.

3 thoughts on “Resistance to change = resistance to learning ?

  1. I got asked to make some changes to a program I was asked to write in the then (1997) very outdated QuickBasic. It was very uncomfortable feeling and the resistance to using C or assembler was mainly due to the company not wanting to learn C or assembler (MCS51).
    Needless to say and I am not springing to the defense of quick basic but the machine only recently died (14 days ago) when the operators managed to drown the computers box with several hundred liters of some salty solution. Up until then it had worked without any issues. Thank god for ELCB’s.

  2. Everybodies code sucks

    A good friend of mine, Jon, who was there in my formative years as a professional programmer, has just blogged a great link by Dave Astel: Why your code sucks. Basically there are a bunch of reasons that peoples code…

Comments are closed.