jCoverage 1.0.5 GPL Version

I’ve made some updates to the free version of jCoverage, mostly so that it works while doing test coverage for BouncyCastle without having to split up the <instrument> task into smaller chunks of files as it appears that it barfs (or at least it does barf under Windows) with a large number of files.
At present the entire 800+ class files can be instrumented in one statement now. Certainly cleaned up my build file.
I’ve also added some other support to ignore methods that start with “get”, “set” and “is” as part of a request from a cow-orker. I’m not sure it’s done in the best way, as I’ve hard-coded that behaviour, but I’ll see if that’s the actual results that are desired before I make it more complicated that it needs to be.
Hopefully, I’ll get these changes rolled back into the main source code, I’ve sent off and email to the jCoverage authors, so I’ll just have to wait and see what the response is.
If anybody else wants the changes in the interim, either send me an email, or leave a comment (or both) and I’ll make the updated JAR available immediately, and the source available (it is GPL after all) when I see what the results of my email to the jCoverage team is.
Update 19th Jan : Sent patch file to Peter at jCoverage. Hopefully we’ll see a jCoverage/GPL 1.0.6 version soon. The update contains a new attribute for <instrument> called ignorejavabean which will ignore getters and setters so that is now configurable. (yay!)

3 thoughts on “jCoverage 1.0.5 GPL Version

  1. i get this MT::App::Comments=HASH(0x810c104) Use of uninitialized value in sprintf at lib/MT/Template/Context.pm line 1187 too!
    And it’s pretty irritating i must say

  2. Hi.
    I’d really appreciate it if you can make that update available. I’m having problems instrumenting my 622 source files.
    Thanks
    James

Comments are closed.